26,60 €
Available formats: 
To enquire about hiring performance material, please click here.


Concerto No. 1 in C Major for Harpsichord (or Fortepiano) and Orchestra (Piano Reduction)

Catalogue No.: 
ASE 0051
Harpsichord (Fortepiano), Harpsichord (Fortepiano)
digital only
February, 2024
This concerto is one of the three surviving keyboard concertos from the manuscripts of German composer J.S. Mayr. It is pedagogical in nature, its light orchestration allowing it to be performed with minimal forces. In three movements, spanning about 18 minutes in total, it looks back at a late Classical style that was quickly fading out of fashion at the time of its creation (1825-6). This edition comes with the unique contribution of Fabrizio Capitanio, in the form of a thorough musicological research delving deep into the historical context, and all of the critical aspects that made this work possible. The full score is available under Catalogue N° ASE 0047, while orchestral parts can be found as a bundle under Catalogue N° ASE 0053.